Best method for learning

What do you programmers recommend is the best way to learn a programming language and why? Also, before there were any books on for example C or C++ how did students in computer science learn to program? I read somewhere that they had no books on C awhile back.

Comments

• I've been programming since 1985 and there have always been books. The Art of Computer Programming was written in 1962-1972 by the inventor of C language and consisted of at least 8 volumes. The C Programming Language was first published in 1978 and is probably the first book on C language. C language itself wasn't invented until 1969 at AT&T Bell Labs.

So I don't think there ever was a time when there were no books about C language. Before that computers were hardwired with their programs. I have no idea how people learned to do that, but most likely how mechanics today learn to fix cars.
  • thats maybe true in your time Ancient Dragon but in this time of age there is only limited knowledge that can be found in a book but if from youtube or from any online resources, in my opinion we can get an unlimited resources we can get our hand on and we can get that for free, whereas books cost a lot of money.

There are two types of learning capabilities, one learn from the books and another learn by doing the actual work. So to fix a car wont it be easier to get their hand on a car first hand instead of open a book and if you don't understand something there're always google and youtube, no?
  • At one time I bought a lot of computer books but I haven't done so for years. The main reasons for this change are:
    1. Information available on the web
    2. Improved help files
    3. I now live a long way from a book shop (and like to see a book before I buy)
    Despite this I do still use my books, I am just not keeping my library up-to-date. Maybe this will come back and bite me at some point.