ADOTable ConnectionString

OK I've got my program finished, works perfect, now I want to use it on another laptop or PC.

The ConnectionString was setup as follows;

Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=C:\Users\Stephen\Desktop\HamLogbook\logbook1.mdb;Persist Security Info=False

When I try to use the program on a different laptop or PC the following error pops up;

"Could not find file "C:\Users\Stephen\Desktop\HamLogbook\logbook1.mdb"

So I thought ok, lets change the ConnectionString to;

Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=logbook1.mdb;Persist Security Info=False

That way there was no folder setup and it would look in the same folder as the program, so I thought, still saying "Could not find file".

Looks like this is all I need now to finally put this baby to bed.

regards
Steve

Comments

• I would save the file in MyDocuments folder and call win32 api SHGetFolderPath() to get the path to MyDocuments. I'm not a Delphi programmer, but here is how to do it in C language
    #include <windows.h>
    #include <iostream>
    #include <shlobj.h>

#pragma comment(lib, "shell32.lib")

int main() {
        CHAR my_documents[MAX_PATH];
        HRESULT result = SHGetFolderPath(NULL, CSIDL_PERSONAL, NULL, SHGFP_TYPE_CURRENT, my_documents);

if (result != S_OK)
            std::cout << "Error: " << result << "\n";
        else
            std::cout << "Path: " << my_documents << "\n";
        return 0;
    }

• steve53 wrote:
    Looks like this is all I need now to finally put this baby to bed.
    Don't you believe it. That is the problem/beauty with writing your own software. You can always find something else to tweak.

If you want the database in the MyDocuments folder as Ancient Dragon suggests, you could do it this way:
    uses
      SHFolder, shlobj;

procedure Whatever(....);
    const
      CONNECTION_TEMPLATE = 'Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=%slogbook1.mdb;Persist Security Info=False';
    var